GWU’s Staughton Hall – 1916-2022
Last Fall, we posted a Funkstown article on GWU’s Staughton Hall – the building, named for the first President of the University (then Columbian College), was built as the Madeira Apartments in 1916, housed service members during WW2, became the second GWU Women’s dormitory, and housed engineering/naval research departments, including hosting the first computer available to students (in 1951). See https://www.foggybottomassociation.org/post/funkstown-no-11-next-on-gwu-s-raze-low-list-staughton-hall. GWU has proceeded with their planned demolition of the building. The area will be “green space” until the current Police/EMS office (built 1874) at the corner of 22nd and G is also demolished and new buildings are constructed on that plot.
First New Snows Court House since 1890?
The Historic Preservation Review Board will consider an application to construct a new three-story row house to be attached to the iconic Snows Court Nos. 1-7 row houses. It will be the first single family home constructed in the alley in 130 years. The Board will consider the proposal at its June 23rd or June 30th meeting. It will issue a final agenda and the HPO will submit its staff report on the new proposal on June 17th. Public comments/requests to speak may be submitted up to 24 hours prior to the meeting. ANC 2A will also consider the proposal at its June 15, 7 pm meeting.
You can see the current proposal here: https://app.box.com/s/dhn9muwq7e6fqor5v5v40hn1w7yanfma/folder/163690094482. Here is the 2020 proposal for the property and the 2020 Historic Preservation Office Staff Report: https://app.box.com/s/dhn9muwq7e6fqor5v5v40hn1w7yanfma/folder/112018500463. For general guidance on New Construction in Historic Districts, see https://planning.dc.gov/sites/default/files/dc/sites/op/publication/attachments/DC%20New%20Construction%20Reformatted.pdf.