810 NEW HAMPSHIRE AVENUE NW
Click photo below to see full sized image.
This group of houses, 800 to 810 New Hampshire Ave., were all built in 1890 by Frank N. Carver, designed by Chas. E. Burden, and owned by Chas. Early and J.P. Jones. (The same team responsible for the 25th St. story book and turreted houses.) They were built "on speculation" - that is for a builder, who would then sell them to the public. The brick facades use brick and iron cornices, mansard and flat roofs, and slate and tin to create a variety of picturesque buildings.
The entry door is recessed with a transom window. No. 810 reflects the massing of No. 802. It has what the Historic District nomination describes as "a romantic castle motif. Its painted-blue flat façade is broken at the second story by an oriel window, with a crenellated cornice. Note the cross motif created in recessed brick." The three-bay first floor has two windows and a door with pointed arches, similar to 802 New Hampshire Ave. The cornice is simple, with no detail.
D. Vogt, 2022
FBA History Project, Foggy Bottom Historic District Walking Tour, "Architectural Variety on New Hampshire Avenue." https://theclio.com/tour/2098/14
EHT Traceries, historic area building survey, Nov. 1983
A sidewalk view with boxed brick raised bed and flagstone/brick front patio area. The iron gate has a circular design. (D. Vogt, May 2022)