806 NEW HAMPSHIRE AVENUE NW

Year Built

1890

Click photo below to see full sized image.

unnamed.png

House History

This group of houses, 800 to 810 New Hampshire Ave., were all built in 1890 by Frank N. Carver, designed by Chas. E. Burden, and owned by Chas. Early and J.P. Jones. (The same team responsible for the 25th St. story book and turreted houses.) They were built "on speculation" - that is for a builder, who would then sell them to the public. The brick facades use brick and iron cornices, mansard and flat roofs, and slate and tin to create a variety of picturesque buildings.

No. 806, the bright yellow house, has a corbelled gable, with a pseudo-chimney, set into a mansard roof. The first floor has a small window set between the door and a normal window.

In 2022, this house had 2 beds, 2 baths and was 1,024 sq ft.

Ownership History

Recollections

Documents

Source Material 

FBA History Project, Foggy Bottom Historic District Walking Tour, "Architectural Variety on New Hampshire Avenue." https://theclio.com/tour/2098/14