804 NEW HAMPSHIRE AVENUE NW
Click photo below to see full sized image.
D. Vogt, 2022
The next group of houses, 800 to 810 New Hampshire Ave., were all built in 1890 by Frank N. Carver, designed by Chas. E. Burden, and owned by Chas. Early and J.P. Jones. (The same team responsible for the 25th St. story book and turreted houses.) They were built "on speculation" - that is for a builder, who would then sell them to the public. The brick facades use brick and iron cornices, mansard and flat roofs, and slate and tin to create a variety of picturesque buildings.
Nos. 804 and 808 feature mansard roofs with two gabled dormer windows. The first floors have recessed doorways and peaked lintels.
FBA History Project, Foggy Bottom Historic District Walking Tour, "Architectural Variety on New Hampshire Avenue." https://theclio.com/tour/2098/14
EHT Traceries, historic area building survey, Nov. 1983
Street view (D. Vogt, May 2022)